Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Show All Answers
As an example, a residence with a market value of $50,000 would be assessed at 19%, which would place its assessed value at $9,500.
If you do not agree with your assessment, there are 3 steps you can take in the appeal process. Remember that an assessment is based on current market value and our objective here is to establish the correct market value of the property. Stating that property taxes are too high is not relevant testimony. You should determine what you believe to be the value of your property and gather and present evidence that supports that value. Such evidence could include photographs, the recent sale of your property, or the oral testimony of someone who has done a recent appraisal of your property.
Board of Equalization
If not satisfied after the informal meeting, you should fill out the Cass County Board of Equalization Assessment Appeal form (PDF). This form must be returned to the Cass County Assessor postmarked by July 11th, 2022. The board will hear evidence from the assessor and you regarding the value of the property which is the subject of the appeal.
State Tax Commission
You have a right to appeal the decision of the board of equalization to the State Tax Commission by September 30th, 2022 or 30 days after the final action of the board of equalization - whichever is later.
For more information regarding appeals contact the Missouri State Tax Commission.
Anyone who has paid Cass County personal property taxes may get a duplicate tax receipt.
You may obtain a duplicate of your original property tax receipt from our office:
Chris Molendorp, Collector 2725 Cantrell Road Harrisonville, MO 64701 816-380-8377
Or go to Search Personal Property or Real Estate Tax Information to print a copy.
RSMo 59.480 1.(2)
There is no charge for copies or certified copies and no fee for notarizing request forms. Military Request Forms (PDF) are available online.Forms provided comply with the rules adopted by the Recorders Association of Missouri in compliance with state statutes. RSMo 59.480 8.A request form that contains more than 1 military discharge document shall not be accepted by the recorder of deeds. RSMo 59.480 9.
For payments made by mail to be on time, the postmark date must be December 31 or earlier. To ensure your mailed payment is timely, contact the post office to determine the office hours for mail cancellation. Payments placed in post office mail drop boxes do not always receive the same day postmark. The collector’s office highly recommends mailing several days before the December 31 deadline.
Payments made in person are accepted during regular business hours (8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday) at the Collector’s Office. Payments placed in the Collector’s drop box before midnight December 31, are timely. The Collector’s drop box is located at Annex 1 on the front of the building at:201 W. Wall St. Harrisonville, MO
Personal Property Tax = (Assessed Value/100) × Tax Rate
Your personal property tax is calculated by dividing the assessed value of the property by 100, and then multiplying that value by the tax rate for your area.
No. You must contact the Collector's Office to get a property tax receipt or waiver.
That depends on where you are shopping or doing business within Cass County.
Within some cities, there are special taxing districts called TDDs or CIDs. The following link on the Missouri Department of Revenue website will help you understand what the sales tax rate is at a specific address in Cass County.
That can be very tricky. Therefore the Missouri Department of Revenue has published an interactive map on their website.
The sales tax that you pay goes to several different government entities.
The county has an accountability portal which gives detailed information on the county’s budget, current debt, and annual expenditures.
If you have recently moved to Cass County, you will need to visit the Cass County Assessor's Office by phone at 816-380-8400 or at: 2733 Cantrell Rd. Harrisonville, MO Please bring proof of ownership such as the title, registration form, renewal slip, or application for title. Once a personal property tax account has been established, you can obtain a tax waiver from the collector's office.
Several counties in Missouri, including Cass County, provide the DOR with paid personal property tax information. The local branch offices should be able to electronically access these personal property records if you do not have copy of your tax receipt. A listing of those counties in Missouri that provide this information to the DOR is available online (PDF).
You will need to visit the Cass County Assessor's Office at: 2733 Cantrell Rd. Harrisonville, MO 6470. Or the Collector's Office at: 2725 Cantrell Rd Harrisonville, MO 64701. Please bring proof of ownership such as the title, registration form, renewal slip, or application for title. Once a personal property tax account has been established, you can obtain a tax waiver from the collector's office.
The vehicles listed on your personal property tax receipt should be those that you owned on January 1 of the tax year. If the purchase date of the vehicle in question was later than January 1 of the tax year, then your tax receipt will be sufficient as is. The license bureau will verify that the vehicle was not taxable for that year based on the purchase date. If your vehicle was owned on January 1, and it is not listed on the paid personal property tax receipt, contact the Cass County Assessor's Office, so that your personal property account may be updated accordingly, by phone at 816-380-8400, or at: 2733 Cantrell Rd Harrisonville, MO 64701.
To generate tax rate cards for a specific county or city in Missouri, sales tax / use rate charts are available from the DOR's website.